Submissions: What Would Joyce Kilmer Say?

submittableSome of you poets out there have  encountered this email text:

“It is difficult to make a judgement about a poet’s work based on one poem. Therefore, I am asking you if you could, to send, say, 6 – 8 more poems by return e-mail? We would then have a better idea, and we can then see whether or not we can go forward.”

Six to eight.

I’m imagining a dialogue like this:

Joyce: I would like to submit my poem, “Trees.”

Editor: Dear Mr. Kilmer, while we enjoyed reading this one poem, it is difficult to make a judgement about a poet’s work based on one poem.”

Joyce: It’s a darn good poem. It has staying power.”

Editor: Yes, but we would don’t know whether or not we can go forward with promoting you as a poet with just this one sample.

Joyce: Dearest editor, I wouldn’t call it a “sample.” It’s a poem. It’s inspirational. Universal and timeless. It will resonate with the entire English-speaking world. How about if I send you 3 others at this time? I’m kind of busy getting ready to defend our country, to enlist in the National Guard, you know. Maybe you can wait until I return from fighting World War I on the European front? I might have some really good poetry for you then. Very graphic, you know.

Editor: Mr. Kilmer, that’s not all. This poem is but twelve lines.”

Mr. Kilmer: It speaks volumes. That’s poetry.

Editor: I’m sorry, sir, but please do get back to us when you have more to show, and possibly longer poems in your collection.

Or possibly the dialogue with Ms.Charlotte Bronte would have been like this?

Editor: Ms. Bronte, your poem “Parting” is really very evocative. However, we would like to see additional samples of your writing. Besides, we’re much more interested in prose fiction these days.

Ms.Charlotte: Dearest editor, as an artist I must be true to my “voice.”

Editor: My dear Ms. Bronte, let me be blunt. Literary tastes are changing. The
marketplace simply does not support poetry any longer. And may I continue?

Ms. Charlotte: By all means.

Editor: (clears his throat): Besides, for a female writer, Ms. Bronte, I would suggest you look into literary prose.

Ms. Charlotte: Dearest editor, it’s so easy to be anonymous on the internet these days. Perhaps I can just create a male moniker and nobody will ever know that I and my sisters are of the delicate gender!

Charlotte Bronte went on to write her great and enduring novel, Jane Eyre. She and her sisters Emily and Anne wrote, under false appellation, the volume of poetry, Poems by Currer, Ellis, and Acton Bell, published in London in 1846 by Aylott and Jones, which included the poem “Parting” but which sold only two copies.

trees_joycekilmer

Joyce Kilmer went on to write his enduring and beloved poem “Trees,” first published by the magazine “Poetry” in August 1913, subsequently published in his literary collection “Trees and Other Poems” before he enlisted and fought in World War I, when he died France, shot through the brain while he was out scouting for tactical information, in 1918.

kilmerhomemahweh

To all the great poets, and to all the rest of the pack.

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

About Jane

The gravitar you see is Joey, narrator and protagonist of my book, "DOGS DON'T LOOK BOTH WAYS," 2015 B.R.A.G. Medallion Honoree. I am the film critic for the newspaper, "The Jewish Advocate" of Boston. I love to bicycle, play tennis, and swim, and to participate in local community activities. My favorites are providing food for the needy, bicycle and pedestrian safety, and literacy. Thanks for clicking on my gravitar!
This entry was posted in business decisions, poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Submissions: What Would Joyce Kilmer Say?

  1. And we’re all “the rest of the pack” until something resonates with readers. Writing is, and should be, a meeting of minds. I don’t know whether your post is amusing or tragic; I see it as a bit of both. I can also appreciate a publisher wanting to know if a potential contributor is a “one-trick pony” or capable of producing a body of work that is consistently good; then again, what’s wrong with a single, wonderful poem even if the author never writes another? It should stand on its own merits, really. Ever the push and pull in the tug-of-war between artistic/literary and commercial value.

    At some point, we’ve all got to eat.

    I’m grateful that I can afford to write and eat, too.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jane says:

      I agree with you, Holly. Thanks for your feedback. Amusing AND tragic.
      You’ve said it. We are all blessed when those gifted writers persist and get their works into the public eye. Now I’m thinking about all the one-hit wonders and how we still enjoy listening and dancing to these one-hit wonders – and made their record companies millions! So there’s a place for that too!
      Some talented writers have not had that element of success. And of course each website, each publication does have its own standards and right they should. So ultimately it’s okay. We just keep on.

      I’m also glad you can write and eat too. Hopefully you just won’t eat your words!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

